Summer Institute 2014

--- Phenomenology of Elementary Particles and Cosmology---

Aug. 21(Thu.) - 28(Thu.), 2014, Fuji-Yoshida, Japan
a figure of Mt.Fuji

Mt. Fuji World cultural heritage
Last Updated: 2014-09-10 Wed. 2:30 + 09:00

About Summer Institute 2014

<< PageTop < Back | Next > PageEnd >>

Welcome to the website of 20 th International Summer Institute on Phenomenology of Elementary Particles and Cosmology (SI2014).

The Summer Institutes have been held every summer since 1995. It aims at an Aspen-type Institute in Asia. The SI2012 was held at Sun Moon Lake (Taiwan) and the SI2013 at Jirisan National Park (Korea).

The purpose of the Summer Institute is to promote communications and discussions on research among participants, rather than to give pedagogical lectures for students. Therefore the scientific program is relaxed to keep enough time for discussions. We hope that the new ideas and research activities will be initiated from this institute.

The SI 2014 is sponsored by the Grant-in-aid from the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan:


Physics at LHC, Flavor physics, Neutrino physics, Unified theories, Supersymmetry, Extra dimensions, Particle cosmologies etc.

Dates and Place

View Larger Map

Invited Lecturers and Titles

Special Seminar on BICEP2

Scientific Program

<< PageTop < Back | Next > PageEnd >>
  • Lectures and Short Talks
  • Poster Sessions
  • Time Table

    << PageTop < Back | Next > PageEnd >>


    << PageTop < Back | Next > PageEnd >>


    << PageTop < Back | Next > PageEnd >>


    << PageTop < Back | Next > PageEnd >>

    How to get to Fujisan Sta. from Narita (via Shinjuku Sta.)

    It takes about 4 hours from Narita Airport to Fujisan Sta.

    1. At the JR Narita airport station, take a limited express train called "Narita Express", which takes about 80 minutes to reach Shinjuku [Time Table].

    2. At the JR Shinjuku station, you change to the "JR Chuo line", take a limited express to Otsuki [Time Table]. The express trains are called "Kaiji", "Azusa" and "Super Azusa". Note that not all express trains stop at Otsuki. You then get off at the JR Otsuki station. It takes about 60 minutes from Shinjuku to Otsuki.

    3. At the JR Otsuki station, you change to the "Fuji-kyuko line" [Time Table] and get off at the Fujisan station. This will take about 50 minutes.

    It will cost about 9,000 Yen altogether.


    How to get to Fujisan Sta. from Haneda

    It takes about 180 min. from Haneda airport to Fujisan.

    At Haneda Airport, take a Tokyo Monorail for Hamamatsucho, where you change to the "JR Yamanote Line" for Shinjuku. From Shinjuku, see how to get Fujisan station from Narita Airport. There are also direct busses from Haneda Airport to Fujisan station [Time Table]. But there are only few busses a day.

    From Fujisan Station to the SI site (Fuji-Calm)

    From Fujisan station it takes about 10 min. by taxi to get to the SI site "Fuji-Calm" (tell better the old name "Jinzai center" to the taxi driver).


    << PageTop < Back | Next > PageEnd >>

    Summer Institute in the past

    Contact and Organizers

    << PageTop < Back | Next > PageEnd >>


    SI2014 International Organizing Committee

  • Mayumi Aoki (Kanazawa U, Japan)
  • Hai-Yang Cheng (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
  • Kingman Cheung (Natl. Tsing Hua U, Taiwan)
  • Kiwoon Choi (KAIST, Korea)
  • Koichi Hamaguchi (Tokyo University, Japan)
  • George Hou (Natl. Taiwan U, Taiwan)
  • Jihn E. Kim (Kyung Hee U, Korea)
  • Pyungwon Ko (KIAS, Korea)
  • Tatsuo Kobayashi (Hokkaido U, Japan)
  • Otto Kong (Natl. Central U, Taiwan)
  • Jisuke Kubo (Kanazawa U, Japan),
  • Taichiro Kugo (Kyoto Sangyo U, Japan)
  • Takeshi Kurimoto (Toyama U, Japan)
  • Jae Sik Lee (Chonnam National U, Korea)
  • Nobuhiro Maekawa (Nagoya U, Japan)
  • Shigeki Matsumoto (IPMU, Japan)
  • Fumihiro Takayama (Yukawa ITP, Japan)
  • Morimitsu Tanimoto (Niigata U, Japan)
  • Haruhiko Terao (Nara Women's U, Japan)
  • SI2014 Local Organizing Committee

  • Ken-Ichi Aoki (Kanazawa U)
  • Mayumi Aoki (Kanazawa U)
  • Takehiko Asaka (Niigata U)
  • Mitsuru Kakizaki (Toyama U)
  • Shinya Kanemura (Toyama U)
  • Jisuke Kubo (Kanazawa U) (Chair)
  • Hiroaki Nakano (Niigata U)
  • Daijiro Suematsu (Kanazawa U)
  • Shinji Takeda (Kanazawa U)

  • SI2014 Office, Kanazawa University

    Back to the page top    go to the past SI homes